Besides disrupting transportation, heavy ice a...

Image via Wikipedia

The Stuff: This is a broad category and I am not going to list everything that you might need, I want to stimulate you into thinking about what stuff YOU need.   

So let’s say it is winter, an ice storm has ripped down the power lines to your home your power is going to be off for a few days at least what might you need?

Well first and foremost we know that we already have a weeks worth’s of water and food, but what might we need beyond that? Candles, extra blankets, some way to cook your food if your range is an electric, a heater, some entertainment, how about a battery powered radio, flashlights, fresh batteries, or toilet paper. The lists can go on and on the main thought here is take a few minutes and think about what might happen if you lost power for a few days?

What about your vehicle? When was the last time you looked to see if your spare had enough air pressure, is it a full sized or the factory doughnut, do you have a jack to change that tire, do you know how to change that tire, how about a working flashlight, or flares?

Here is where my friends usually tell me that I am going overboard and that I can’t prepare for everything that might happen to me. I agree with them, I can’t possible have everything that I might need for everything that might happen to me. But I can have a good supply of general things that can take me a LONG way toward getting thought those emergencies/rough situations that might occur.

So Jeff, you say, your blog is Poor Man’s Prepper, but you’re sending me off with a list of stuff to buy, what’s up with that???

Well I shop on the cheap, Goodwill, Salvation Army, garage sales, Craig’s List, The Dollar Store are all great places to start picking up stuff on the cheap, oh and by the way don’t forget YOUR garage, closet and other forgotten areas. Most people have a good stock of emergency stuff placed all over their home, but do you know exactly where? Get in there find it dust it off make sure it works and keep Prepping!!!

