Old system for soda water

Image via Wikipedia

Water: Most people will die after 3 days without water, and that water from your tap can become contaminated and undrinkable or even just stop flowing.

Fortunately for us not only is water your most important thing to have it is also the easiest to get and store.

How much water? Well the U.S. government recommends a 3 day supply of 1 gallon of water per person per day. We are going to start out building a 1 week supply. So for me there is myself and my son so that is 14 gallons of water. There are 3.78 liters to a gallon and I use 2 liter soda bottles so that means that I need 14 gallons = 53 liters divided by 2 = 27 soda bottles. I don’t drink soda so I asked friends and family to save their bottles and in no time I had the container that I needed washed out with hot water and soap.

Most water in most municipalities is treated and is safe to store straight from the tap. So me and my son filled up the soda bottles and capped them off and stored them in a dark closet. You of course don’t have to use soda bottles you could buy gallon jugs of water from your grocery store, or if you have a water service you could just get extra 5 gallon bottles and store them.

Will my water go bad?

In a word no, if you keep it out of the light and don’t see any green stuff growing then you are fine. Water will taste flat, after being stored for any period of time really all you need to do is pour it from one container into another container making sure you get lots of agitation to oxygenate that water.       Some people like to refill their water every year or so, this is fine if you want to just date your bottles and refill every year.

So pat yourself on the back now that you are done with step 1 you are more prepared than 95% of the United States! Woooo Hooooo!!!

